Find your superpower and drive your business forward

Aidan Crawford
3 min readDec 6, 2018

--

What’s your superpower? If you’re an entrepreneur or business owner, good fortune and connections will only take you so far.

At some point your business is going to float or sink because you are better at doing something than someone else.

Maybe it’s something really complicated. But it doesn’t have to be.

I’m a writer. I’ve paid my bills for over 25yrs hacking out content as an employee and then as a marketing guy with his own little agency.

But my superpower isn’t writing. Let’s face it, there are better writers reading this piece right now groaning about how I’ve shot through 5 paragraphs without actually getting to a point.

My superpower is using my skill as a writer to articulate clients’ value propositions in a way that speaks to their ideal clients.

I don’t just take what they say and clean it up. I go deeper to understand who it is they need to connect with and then make their content relatable to the people who are most likely to hire them.

If I’m going to be really honest I didn’t come by this power because of a radioactive spider bite. But like Peter Parker it did start in high school. In fact I can trace it back to my experience in drama class.

As a young actor I embraced the Stanislavski Method. If you’re unfamiliar with the term it requires an actor to portray emotions on stage by imagining themselves in the same emotional state as their character.

It was useful on the stage then and it’s useful on the page now.

When I engage with a client I use the same device that got me through Tom Stoppard’s The Real Inspector Hound and Thornton Wilder’s Our Town to put myself in the same head space of the people my clients need to reach and impress.

Over the last 24 months I’ve used this superpower to expand my business and deliver strategic business coaching to independent consultants, trainers and speakers.

I suppose the only real surprise is why it took me so long to see the opportunities right in front of me. I’m a writer and I’ve always been fascinated with other people’s business models. In fact I’ve always done this kind of work with friends in the “the biz.” It’s just that up until now, I didn’t charge for it.

As something that came so easily to me, I didn’t recognize my own value. My own superpower.

So helping fellow business owners articulate a stronger value proposition that resonates with their ideal clients is really a no-brainer service I should have been offering for years.

I show clients how to see their business from the perspective of the people they need to hire them. Once they understand this everything that needs doing becomes much clearer.

The next step is rewriting content and marketing material to align with this new perspective through a series of calls.

Then, because I’m also a tinkerer, I go in and update their websites myself.

I love what I do. It’s always interesting to engage with experts and show them how to market themselves better. But it’s absolutely thrilling when it becomes clear that “they get it.”

What’s your superpower? What special trick do you have that you take for granted but is actually a valuable, marketable skill? How can you leverage this into future business opportunities?

As the year ends, I’m looking forward to doing much more of this type of work. I’d love to talk to you about how this hybrid service of coaching/doing could help your business break big in 2019.

Book a complimentary 15 minutes and let’s talk about what you need.

--

--

Aidan Crawford

Aidan is the go-to marketing guy for professional speakers trainers and consultants. He likes his wife and kids. Loves his beer and indie rock.